European rating agency. Objective, transparent, independent.
European rating agency. Objective, transparent, independent.

BMW AG (Konzern)

Rating History

Rating Watch Outlook Decision Date Action Validity Date Maximum Validity
A Outlook NEG 07.04.2020 15.04.2020
A+ Outlook NEG 03.01.2020 10.01.2020
A+ Outlook STA 07.06.2017 21.06.2017

News

  • 15.04.2020
    Creditreform Rating amended the corporate issuer rating of BMW AG, BMW Finance N.V. and the rating of the long-term currency (LC) senior unsecured issues from A + / negative to A / negative as part of the monitoring process during the year. The main reasons for this are the current macroeconomic upheavals, which CRA believes are increasingly the result of the COVID-19-pandemic and could affect the BMW Group to a considerable extent. This is particularly the case considering the temporary plant closings and the associated production stoppages, which can lead to significant sales and earnings losses. The duration of the plant closings is currently not foreseeable. As part of its periodic reviews, CRA examines further negative implications on the net assets-, financial- and earnings position of the BMW Group.
  • 10.01.2020
    Creditreform Rating has set BMW AG's unsolicited corporate issuer rating to A +. The outlook is negative and reflects the company's own expectations regarding a further decline in earnings for the 2019 financial year, which could also be confirmed in 2020. With the unsolicited corporate issuer rating, BMW AG continues to have a high level of creditworthiness and a low default risk. The operational and financial performance of the BMW Group is decisive for the rating assessment, which is satisfactory despite the deterioration in earnings quality, high levels of competition, technological change and capital intensity of the business. The BMW Group's long-established capital market capability has a stabilizing effect. The reduction in sales and the significantly declining annual result in 2018 have a negative effect on our rating assessment.
  • 21.06.2017
    Creditreform Rating has set the unsolicited corporate rating of Deutsche Telekom AG to A+. The outlook is stable. The unsolicited A+ corporate rating attests BMW AG a high creditworthiness. Despite challenging market conditions we assume, that the company will assert its position in the global automotive market. Main factor of success is the good brand portfolio which is state-of-the-art in terms of quality and technology. Due to its financial strength we expect BMW AG to be well prepared to successfully shape the pending fundamental technological change in the automotive industry. On the other hand, those inevitable measures will probably cause income losses and higher indebtedness. In addition, economic and political uncertainties could have an adverse effect on the business.

Europäische Ratingagentur. Objektiv, transparent und unabhängig.
Europäische Ratingagentur. Objektiv, transparent und unabhängig.

BMW AG (Konzern)

Rating History

Rating Watch Outlook Erstellung Veröffentlichung Max. Gültig Bis
A Outlook NEG 07.04.2020 15.04.2020
A+ Outlook NEG 03.01.2020 10.01.2020
A+ Outlook STA 07.06.2017 21.06.2017

News

  • 15.04.2020
    Creditreform Rating hat im Rahmen des unterjährigen Monitorings das Corporate Issuer Rating der BMW AG, der BMW Finance N.V. sowie das Rating der Long-Term Currency (LC) Senior Unsecured Issues von A+ / negativ auf A / negativ zurückgenommen. Die wesentlichen Gründe hierfür sind die aktuellen gesamtwirtschaftlichen Verwerfungen, welche sich nach Auffassung der CRA verstärkt aus der COVID-19-Pandemie ergeben und in erheblichem Maße die BMW Gruppe betreffen könnten. Dies insbesondere vor dem Hintergrund der vorüberübergehenden Werksschließungen und den damit einhergehenden Produktionsausfällen, die zu deutlichen Umsatz- und Ertragseinbußen führen können. Die Zeitdauer der Werksschließungen ist aktuell nicht absehbar. CRA prüft im Rahmen der regelmäßigen Reviews weitergehende, negative Implikationen auf die Vermögens-, Finanz- und Ertragslage der BMW Gruppe.
  • 10.01.2020
    Creditreform Rating hat das unbeauftragte Corporate Issuer Rating der BMW AG auf A+ festgelegt. Der Ausblick ist negativ und reflektiert die eigene Erwartung des Unternehmens hinsichtlich eines nochmals rückläufigen Ergebnisniveaus für das Geschäftsjahr 2019, das sich auch in 2020 bestätigen könnte. Mit dem unbeauftragten unsolicited Corporate Issuer Rating wird der BMW AG weiterhin eine hohe Bonität und ein geringes Ausfallrisiko attestiert. Maßgeblich für die Ratingeinschätzung ist die operative und finanzielle Leistungsfähigkeit des BMW Konzerns, die sich trotz rückläufiger Ergebnisqualität, hoher Wettbewerbsintensität, technologischem Wandel und Kapitalintensität des Geschäftes zufriedenstellend darstellt. Stabilisierend wirkt die langjährig nachgewiesene Kapitalmarkfähigkeit des BMW Konzerns. Gegenläufig wirken sich die Umsatzreduzierung und das deutlich rückläufige Jahresergebnis in 2018 auf unsere Ratingeinschätzung aus.
  • 21.06.2017
    Creditreform Rating hat das unbeauftragte Unternehmensrating der BMW AG auf A+ festgesetzt. Der Ausblick ist stabil. Mit dem unbeauftragten Unternehmensrating wird BMW eine hohe Bonität attestiert. Trotz herausfordernder Marktbedingungen gehen wir davon aus, dass sich das Unternehmen weiterhin erfolgreich im globalen Automobilmarkt behaupten kann. Wichtiger Erfolgsfaktor ist das gute Markenportfolio, das in qualitativer und technologischer Hinsicht dem neuesten Stand entspricht. Mit ihrer bilanziellen und finanziellen Stärke sehen wir die BMW AG gut gerüstet, den sich abzeichnenden grundlegenden technologischen Wandel in der Automobilindustrie erfolgreich zu gestalten. Allerdings sind hierbei Ertragseinbußen und eine höhere Verschuldung einzukalkulieren. Hinzu kommen erhöhte konjunkturelle und wirtschaftspolitische Unwägbarkeiten, welche sich negativ auf das Geschäft auswirken könnten.