European rating agency. Objective, transparent, independent.
European rating agency. Objective, transparent, independent.

Fortum Oyj

Rating History

Rating Watch Outlook Decision Date Action Validity Date Maximum Validity
BBB Outlook STA 21.07.2021 23.07.2021
BBB Outlook STA 02.06.2020 09.06.2020
BBB+ Watch NEW 11.10.2019 16.10.2019
BBB+ Outlook STA 11.04.2019 25.04.2019

News

  • 23.07.2021
    Creditreform Rating AG confirmed the unsolicited corporate issuer rating of Fortum Oyj at BBB. The outlook remains stable. The primary reason that led to this rating result are the Company´s large scale, diversification, and successful hedging strategy, which considerably reduces exposure to adverse market developments. Additionally, the strong linkage to the Finnish government was also a positive factor contributing to the rating result. During 2020 Fortum was confronted with a difficult market environment due to lower demand and lower power prices caused by the effects of the COVID-19 pandemic, unusually high temperatures in the Nordics and negative currency developments, which dampened operating performance. During the first quarter of 2021 its market environment stabilized and Fortum managed to improve its results in all of its business segments. The integration of Uniper SE into the Group continues to progress. We currently believe that the deterioration of the structured financial key ratio analysis and the heavier focus on fossil fuels following the consolidation of Uniper from the second quarter in 2020 onwards still outweigh the positive scaling and diversification effects. However, according to the Group´s strategy the Company will continue to focus on optimizing its balance sheet in 2021 and 2022. This was evidenced by the agreement made on 30 June 2021 to sell its share in Exergi for a total consideration of approximately EUR 2.9 billion and an expected considerable tax exempt capital gain which will strengthen its balance sheet and provide financial headroom for further investments.
  • 09.06.2020
    Creditreform has downgraded the unsolicited corporate issuer rating of Fortum Oyj to BBB. The Watch NEW is withdrawn and replaced with a stable outlook. The main reason behind this decision is the expected deterioration of the financial key figures in 2020 following the consolidation of Uniper SE as of 31.03.2020. Furthermore, the business profile of Fortum Oyj has deteriorated due to the stronger focus of Uniper on fossil energy sources in its generation fleet .
  • 16.10.2019
    Creditreform Rating AG has adjusted the current unsolicited corporate rating of Fortum Oyj and the unsolicited corporate issue ratings of Fortum Oyj from BBB+ with stable outlook to BBB+ with supplement WATCH NEW. The main reason behind this decision is Fortum´s intention, announced on 8 October 2019, to acquire further 20.5% of shares on the German Uniper SE for a total consideration of approximately EUR 2.3 billion, thus increasing its share to 70.5%. The closing of the agreement between Fortum and the both major stockholders, Elliott and Knight Vinke, is subject to regulatory approvals in Russia and the United States. Despite the expected positive diversification and synergy effects, as well as enhanced influence over the Uniper´s strategy, we anticipate that the rating will be at first negatively impacted by the acquisition. In the case of closing the transaction, we expect a deterioration of Fortum´s financials following increased debt burden and as a result of consolidation effects. Furthermore, the business profile of Fortum would deteriorate due to the stronger focus of Uniper on fossile energy sources in its generation fleet.
  • 25.04.2019
    Creditreform Rating has carried out an unsolicited rating of Fortum Oyj. The rating has been set to BBB+ with stable outlook.

Europäische Ratingagentur. Objektiv, transparent und unabhängig.
Europäische Ratingagentur. Objektiv, transparent und unabhängig.

Fortum Oyj

Rating History

Rating Watch Outlook Erstellung Veröffentlichung Max. Gültig Bis
BBB Outlook STA 21.07.2021 23.07.2021
BBB Outlook STA 02.06.2020 09.06.2020
BBB+ Watch NEW 11.10.2019 16.10.2019
BBB+ Outlook STA 11.04.2019 25.04.2019

News

  • 23.07.2021
    Die Creditreform Rating AG hat das unbeauftragte Corporate Issuer Rating der Fortum Oyj mit BBB bestätigt. Der Ausblick bleibt stabil. Maßgeblich für das Rating sind die Größe und Diversifizierung des Unternehmens und die erfolgreiche Hedging-Strategie, die das Risiko von Auswirkungen ungünstiger Marktentwicklungen erheblich reduziert. Darüber hinaus hat auch die starke Bindung an die finnische Regierung positiv zum Ratingergebnis beigetragen. Im Jahr 2020 war Fortum mit einem schwierigen Marktumfeld konfrontiert, das durch eine geringere Nachfrage aufgrund der Auswirkungen der COVID-19-Pandemie und niedrigere Strompreise, ungewöhnlich hohe Temperaturen in den nordischen Ländern und negative Währungsentwicklungen, die operative Leistung dämpfte. Im ersten Quartal 2021 stabilisierte sich das Marktumfeld und Fortum konnte die Ergebnisse in allen Geschäftsbereichen verbessern. Die Integration der Uniper SE in den Konzern schreitet weiter voran. Wir gehen derzeit noch davon aus, dass die Verschlechterung der strukturierten Finanzkennzahlenanalyse und die stärkere Fokussierung auf fossile Brennstoffe durch die Konsolidierung von Uniper ab dem zweiten Quartal 2020, die positiven Skalierungs- und Diversifikationseffekte überwiegen. Gemäß der Strategie des Konzerns wird sich das Unternehmen jedoch in den Jahren 2021 und 2022 auf die Optimierung der Bilanz konzentrieren. Dies wurde durch die am 30. Juni 2021 getroffene Vereinbarung über den Verkauf des Anteils an Exergi zu einem Gesamtpreis von ca. EUR 2,9 Mrd. und einem erwarteten erheblichen steuerfreien Veräußerungsgewinn belegt, der die Bilanzstärke verbessern und finanziellen Spielraum für weitere Investitionen schaffen wird.
  • 09.06.2020
    Creditreform hat das unbeauftragte Corporate Issuer Rating der Fortum Oyj auf BBB heruntergestuft. Das Watch NEW wurde zurückgezogen und durch einen stabilen Ausblick ersetzt. Der maßgebliche Grund für diese Entscheidung ist die erwartete Verschlechterung der ratingrelevanten Finanzkennzahlen in 2020, in Folge der Konsolidierung mit Uniper SE ab den 31.03.2020. Zudem verschlechtert sich auch das Geschäftsmodell der Fortum Oyj, da Uniper einen hohen Anteil an fossilen Energieträgern in seinem Kraftwerkpark aufweist.
  • 16.10.2019
    Creditreform hat das unbeauftragte Unternehmensrating der Fortum Oyj und die unbeauftragten Corporate Issue Ratings über die Emissionen der Fortum Oyj von BBB+ mit stabilem Ausblick auf BBB+ mit dem Zusatz WATCH NEW angepasst. Der Grund für diese Entscheidung ist die am 08.10.2019 durch Fortum angekündigte Absicht, weitere 20,5% der Aktien an der deutschen Uniper SE für circa EUR 2,3 Mrd. zu erwerben und somit seine Beteiligung auf 70,5% zu erhöhen. Die zwischen Fortum und weiteren Großaktionären von Uniper, Elliott und Knight Vinke, abgeschlossenen Vereinbarungen stehen unter Genehmigungsvorbehalt durch russische und US-amerikanische Regulierungsbehörden. Trotz möglicher positiver Diversifikations- und Synergieeffekte sowie besserer Einflussmöglichkeiten auf die Strategie von Uniper erwarten wir, dass das Rating von Fortum durch die Akquisition zunächst negativ beeinflusst werden wird. Sollte das Geschäft realisiert werden, erwartet Creditreform eine Verschlechterung der Fortums Finanzkennzahlen in Folge einer Ausweitung der Verschuldung sowie in Folge der Konsolidierungseffekte. Des Weiteren würde sich Fortums Geschäftsprofil durch die Transaktion aufgrund der stärkeren Konzentration von Uniper auf fossile Energieträger in seinem Kraftwerkpark verschlechtern.
  • 25.04.2019
    Creditreform Rating hat ein unbeauftragtes Rating über die Fortum Oyj erstellt und auf BBB+ festgelegt. Der Ausblick ist stabil.