European rating agency. Objective, transparent, independent.
European rating agency. Objective, transparent, independent.

Naturgy Energy Group, S.A.

Rating History

Rating Watch Outlook Decision Date Action Validity Date Maximum Validity
BBB+ Outlook NEG 17.05.2021 20.05.2021
BBB+ Outlook STA 29.05.2020 08.06.2020
BBB+ Outlook STA 17.05.2017 26.05.2017

News

  • 20.05.2021
    Creditreform Rating has confirmed the unsolicited corporate issuer rating of Naturgy Energy Group, S.A. (Naturgy) at BBB+ and changed the outlook from stable to negative. The main reasons for the change in outlook are the negative impact on the company's business performance in 2020, which were affected by lower global energy demand and production cuts due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Macroeconomic developments which reflected a sharp decline in commodity prices, including gas and wholesale electricity prices, led to a drop in sales. In addition, impairment effects burdened consolidated earnings in the 2020 financial year. Moreover, Naturgy's business climate is negatively affected by the situation in the Latin American regions due to the ongoing economic uncertainties and the weak currency. Given the company's strong position in its relevant geographic markets and its diversified, systemically relevant business model, we confirm the rating of Naturgy at BBB+. The Company´s solid financial figures and good access to the capital market also provide a good basis for coping with potential challenges.
  • 08.06.2020
    Creditreform Rating has confirmed the BBB+ unsolicited corporate issuer rating of Naturgy Energy Group, S.A. The stable outlook remains in place. The rating result of Naturgy Energy Group, S.A. reflects its scale, its geographical and product diversification, as well as high proportion of regulated and contracted activities - reflected in a large proportion of stable and predictable cash flows. The Company has a solid earnings capacity and strong financial metrics, which have improved in the course of the implementation of the cost efficiency program introduced in 2018. Naturgy´s proved access to financial markets, solid liquidity, controlled investment policy and commitment to financial discipline underpin our rating assessment. However, a significant part of Naturgy´s business remains negatively affected by volatile power demand and prices. The Company´s generous dividend policy, with envisaged further annual increase in distribution payments and share buyback program, particularly against the backdrop of the overall economic slowdown resulting from the COVID-19 pandemic, coupled with a drop in energy demand and aggravated counterparty and liquidity risks, have a dampening effect on the rating.
  • 26.05.2017
    Creditreform Rating has carried out an unsolicited rating of Gas Natural SDG, S.A. The rating has been set to BBB+/stable.

    Within the framework of the new strategic plan 2018-2022, Gas Natural SDG, S.A. changed its name into Naturgy Energy Group, S.A. since 27 June 2018. The current rating of former Gas Natural SDG, S.A. will be pursued by Creditreform Rating AG under the name Naturgy Energy Group, S.A.

Europäische Ratingagentur. Objektiv, transparent und unabhängig.
Europäische Ratingagentur. Objektiv, transparent und unabhängig.

Naturgy Energy Group, S.A.

Rating History

Rating Watch Outlook Erstellung Veröffentlichung Max. Gültig Bis
BBB+ Outlook NEG 17.05.2021 20.05.2021
BBB+ Outlook STA 29.05.2020 08.06.2020
BBB+ Outlook STA 17.05.2017 26.05.2017

News

  • 20.05.2021
    Creditreform Rating hat das unbeauftragte Corporate Issuer Rating der Naturgy Energy Group, S.A. (Naturgy) mit BBB+ bestätigt und den Ausblick von stabil auf negativ geändert. Die Hauptgründe für die Änderung des Ausblicks sind die negativen Auswirkungen auf die Geschäftsentwicklung des Unternehmens im Jahr 2020, die durch einen geringeren globalen Energiebedarf und Produktionskürzungen infolge der COVID-19-Pandemie beeinflusst wurde. Die makroökonomischen Entwicklungen, die einen starken Rückgang der Rohstoffpreise einschließlich der Gas- und Großhandelspreise für Strom widerspiegelten, führten zu einem Umsatzrückgang. Darüber hinaus belasteten Wertminderungseffekte das Konzernergebnis im Geschäftsjahr 2020. Außerdem ist das Geschäftsklima von Naturgy durch die Situation in den lateinamerikanischen Regionen aufgrund der anhaltenden wirtschaftlichen Unsicherheiten und der Währungsschwäche negativ geprägt. Aufgrund der starken Position des Unternehmens in seinen relevanten geografischen Märkten sowie seines diversifizierten, systemrelevanten Geschäftsmodells bestätigen wir das Rating von Naturgy mit BBB+. Die soliden Finanzkennzahlen des Unternehmens und der gute Kapitalmarktzugang bilden zudem eine gute Grundlage für die Bewältigung bestehender und künftiger Herausforderungen.
  • 08.06.2020
    Creditreform Rating hat das unbeauftragte Corporate Issuer Rating über die Naturgy Energy Group, S.A. aktualisiert und mit BBB+ bestätigt. Der Ausblick bleibt stabil. Maßgeblich für die Ratingeinschätzung ist die Größe des Unternehmens, seine geographische und Produktdiversifizierung sowie der große Anteil der regulierten und durch langfristige Verträge hinterlegten Aktivitäten mit stabilen und planbaren Cash Flows. Das Unternehmen konnte seine solide Innenfinanzierungskraft und seine starken Finanzkennzahlen im Zuge der Implementierung des im Jahr 2018 initiierten Kostenoptimierungsprogramms weiter verbessern. Der gute Zugang zum Finanzmarkt, solide Liquiditätslage, kontrollierte Investitionsausgaben und Bekenntnis zu Finanzdisziplin unterstützen unsere Ratingeinschätzung. Allerdings bleibt ein wesentlicher Teil des Geschäfts durch volatile Energiepreise und –nachfrage negativ beeinflusst. Die großzügige Ausschüttungspolitik mit angekündigter jährlicher Erhöhung der Dividendenzahlungen sowie das Aktienrückkaufsprogramm, insbesondere vor dem Hintergrund der aus der COVID-19-Pandemie resultierenden allgemeinen Konjunkturabschwächung, sowie damit einhergehender Rückgang der Energienachfrage und verschärfte Kontrahenten- und Liquiditätsrisiken haben eine dämpfende Wirkung auf das Rating.
  • 26.05.2017
    Creditreform Rating hat ein unbeauftragtes Rating über die Gas Natural SDG, S.A. erstellt und auf BBB+/stable festgelegt.

    Im Rahmen des neuen strategischen Plans 2018-2022 wurde Gas Natural SDG, S.A. in Naturgy Energy Group, S.A. am 27. Juni 2018 umbenannt. Das aktuelle Rating der ehemaligen Gas Natural SDG, S.A. wird unter dem Namen Naturgy Energy Group, S.A. durch Creditreform Rating AG weitergeführt.